Honors a school counselor who is running a top-notch, comprehensive school counseling program at the elementary, middle, or high school level.  Oklahoma's winner is submitted to the national level.

Jennifer Sack

Selected as 2023-2024 Oklahoma School Counselor of the Year

Jennifer Sack is the 2023-2024 Oklahoma School Counselor of the Year. She is the lead counselor at Booker T. Washington High School in Tulsa Public Schools where she has spent the entirety of her eleven year school counseling career.

Jennifer has led many initiatives during her time as a school counselor. Some of the most impressive achievements include collaborating with the American School Counseling Association to advocate for legislative change on SB-615 which resulted in revised language to align with ASCA ethical guidelines.

Jennifer also spearheaded College Application Week (CAW) in October of 2022 where she and her fellow counselors were able to increase the number of students applying to college by 22% in just five days!

Finally, Jennifer oversees a Student Safe Team. During the 2020-2021 school year she was able to advise this team of students as they gathered data and advocated for more comprehensive mental health services on their campus. Their hard work and advocacy resulted in the addition of a Social Services Specialist at Booker T. Washington High School.

One of Jennifer’s co-counselors describes her as a counselor who cares about each and every student in her building. She states Jennifer, “advises and supports students in every situation, from the high achieving student aiming for the Ivy League, to the struggling student who is on the brink of dropping out”. 

The Oklahoma School Counselor Association is immensely proud of Mrs. Sack. We cannot imagine a better representative for our state and wish her the best of luck as she competes for American School Counselor of the Year.

Previous Oklahoma School Counselors of the Year

2023 - 2024 Jennifer Sack, Tulsa Public Schools

2022 - 2023 Tessica Taylor, Luther Public Schools

2021 - 2022 Christy Sturgeon, Broken Arrow High School, Broken Arrow Public Schools

2020 - 2021 Missy Smith, Lincoln Elementary, Norman Public Schools

2019 - 2020 Lee Acers, Wilson Elementary School, Oklahoma City Public Schools

2018 - 2019 Sarah Kirk, Monroe Elementary School, Norman Public Schools

2017 - 2018 Misty Bible, Broken Bow  Public Schools

2016 - 2017 Dr. Michelle Taylor, Adair High School, Adair Public Schools

2015 - 2016 Nick Hughes, Limestone Technology Academy, Sand Springs Public Schools

2013 - 2014 Lori Pettus, Eisenhower International School, Tulsa Public Schools

2012 - 2013 Bobbie Fields, Tulsa Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Michelle Dodgen, Weatherford Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Katie Burk, Sterling Public Schools (K-12 SCOY)

                      Charlotte Hunter, Oklahoma City Public Schools (Outstanding School Counselor Advocate)

2011 - 2012 Ken Elliott, Edmond Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Beth Dillard, Putnam City North High School, Putnam City Public Schools (High School SCOY)

2010 - 2011 Kay Middleton-Price, Muskogee Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Lisa Edwards, Edmond Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Janet Anderson, Moore Public Schools (High School SCOY)

                      Marylu Oakes, Seiling Public Schools (Multi-level SCOY)

2009 - 2010 Carolyn Nees, Moore Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Robbie Smith, Keys Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Mary Brenner, Woodward Public Schools (High School SCOY)

2008 - 2009 Rebecca Barry, Shawnee Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Linda Salter, Moore Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Karen Dawson, Tulsa Public Schools (High School SCOY)

2007 - 2008 Barbara Shelton, Moore Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Janelle Miller, Moore Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Laura Watts, Tahlequah Public Schools (High School SCOY)

                      Cheryl Riggs, Central Public Schools (Multi-level SCOY)

                      Wendy Perry, Moore-Norman Technology Center (Other-level SCOY)

2006 - 2007 Kathy Simmons, Midwest City Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Cheri Lou Gastineau, Burns Flat-Dill City Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Fran Bewley, Sallisaw Public Schools (High School SCOY)

                      Kristin Ramirez, Blair Public Schools (Multi-level SCOY)

                      Mary Jane Pruitt, Kiamichi Technology Center (Other-level SCOY)

2005 - 2006 Suzanne Price, Norman Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                     Beverly McCombs, Crescent Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                     Rhonda Malahy, Putnam City Public Schools (High School SCOY)

2004 - 2005 Sandra Bright, Weatherford Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Ellen Harkey, Idabel Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Becky Delozier, Adair Public Schools (High School SCOY)

2003 - 2004 Margaret Durham, Moore Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Gerri Kroutil, Mustang Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software